JLL @ The 500 Club

When Heidi Fleiss was spotted on “Celebrity Rehab” wearing a Morlocks tee shirt, it was a full 25 years after one of its founding members, Jeff Lucas, had released his first EP with that garage band. That was back in the days when he still lived in Southern California, stole his guitarist's girlfriend, and suffered a long-standing heart arrhythmia from regular amphetamine use.

Two and a half decades later, Lucas leads a considerably more subdued life in San Francisco where he studied cello and composition for several years, picked up the middle name "Luck" around the pool table, and just released THE LION'S JAW, an album of sublimely arranged chamber folk produced and engineered by studio wizard Desmond Shea (Court & Spark, Neurosis, Dieselhed) and featuring Lucas' hushed yet resonant baritone.

THE LION'S JAW almost didn't see the light of day. The original label backing it, Evangeline, was experiencing financial problems and had decided to postpone the release indefinitely. Jono Williamson had worked as a consultant with Evangeline and loved the record so much he negotiated to purchase the master so it could be released though his own label, Growler Records.

With breathy, deep-toned vocals that sit somewhere between the Velvet Underground and Johnny Cash, THE LION'S JAW is a concept album about the darkness and light of two people in love and contains echoes of Lucas' peripatetic youth spent in California,Texas, Maryland, and Indiana. Lucid strings show off Lucas' gift for composition while Desmond Shea gives the album a rich, rounded sound. In keeping with descriptions of Lucas’ music as “darkly gorgeous, unexpectedly uplifting,” (Dusted Magazine), THE LION’S JAW presents a sultry, obsidian view of love and the risks we take in its name.

THE LION'S JAW is Lucas' third album of solo work. His other two albums are the critically acclaimed HELL THEN DIVINE (2004, Antebellum)and WHAT WE WHISPER (2006, Antebellum). Lucas appeared on the Will Oldham tribute, “I Am a Cold Rock I Am Dull Grass” with a cover of "Agnes, Queen of Sorrow." His song "Cascade" was featured on the covermount CD of British music magazine Comes with a Smile. Tract Records featured his song "Her Pale Silver Eyes" on its “Eye of the Beholder” compilation.

Lucas has shared bills with Alejandro Escovedo, John Doe (X, The Knitters), Ray Manzarek (The Doors), Stuart Staples (Tindersticks), Maria McKee (Lone Justice), and many others. In addition to his own recording, Lucas has performed on the albums of dozens of fellow artists including Chuck Prophet, Paula Frazer, Neurosis, and Rykarda Parasol.


Jeffrey Luck Lucas: vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, cello, keys
Sean Coleman: electric guitars, twelve string guitar, voice
Justin Frahm: acoustic and electric pianos, organ, voice
Spencer Murray: acoustic and electric bass
Tim Mooney: drums
Kira Lynn Cain: voice
Nate Cavalieri: vibraphone, piano
Jen Grady: cello (including solo, “King of One Night Stands”)
John Hofer: percussion
David Phillips: pedal steel
Desmond Shea: trumpet, glockenspiel, percussion, electric guitar,


HELL THEN DIVINE (2004, Antebellum)
WHAT WE WHISPER (2006, Antebellum)
THE LION’S JAW (2010, Growler)